My Favorite Girl Adventurers: Harriet the Spy

15 Feb

Harriet M. Welsh from Louise Fitzhugh’s classic HARRIET THE SPY, is one of my favorite girl characters in all of literature. Armed with only a notebook, she sets out to discover the darkest secrets of her own neighborhood. Along the way she causes a little bit of trouble…

I think I hold Harriet so close to my heart because, like me, she’s a writer. Even when I was young, I loved the idea that you could take on the world with a pen and a piece of paper. More importantly, perhaps, she taught me that words can cut deeper than any knife, and that even the best of spies need to be careful about how they handle the things that they discover.

One Response to “My Favorite Girl Adventurers: Harriet the Spy”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lynne Kelly, Author of CHAINED, Talks HARRIET THE SPY « Ellie Rollins - March 20, 2012

    […] We talked about our favorite spy on the blog here, so I thought that, instead of sharing a pic of the book cover, I’d include this How To Be A Spy tip from the Harriet the Spy movie (which I loved if only because it included a teeny little pre-Buffy Michelle Trachtenburg.) Enjoy! http://www.videodetective.net/flash/players/movieapi/?publishedid=6709 Trailer provided by Video Detective Learn more about Lynne Kelly, and CHAINED here. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

