Marissa Burt Talks Anne of Green Gables

6 Mar

Today on the blog Marissa Burt, author of STORYBOUND, which comes out on April 3, 2012, stops by to write a little about Anne Shirley of the classic, ANNE OF GREEN GABLES. Here’s a little more information about STORYBOUND: 

In the land of Story, children go to school to learn to be characters: a perfect Hero, a trusty Sidekick, even the most dastardly Villain. They take classes on Outdoor Experiential Questing and Backstory, while adults search for full-time character work in stories written just for them. 

In our world, twelve-year-old Una Fairchild has always felt invisible. But all that changes when she stumbles upon a mysterious book buried deep in the basement of her school library, opens the cover, and suddenly finds herself transported to the magical land of Story. 

But Story is not a perfect fairy tale. Una’s new friend Peter warns her about the grave danger she could face if anyone discovers her true identity. The devious Tale Keeper watches her every move. And there are whispers of a deadly secret that seems to revolve around Una herself…. 

With the timeless appeal of books like A Wrinkle in Time and the breathtaking action of Inkheart, Storybound has all the makings of a new classic. Brimming with fantastical creatures, magical adventure, and heart-stopping twists, Storybound will leave readers wishing they too could jump through the pages into this enchanting fairy-tale world.

Marissa was kind enough to answer the question, which literary heroine inspired you? See what she has to say below!

What a tough question! My favorite heroine has to be Anne Shirley. She never zips around on a scooter, but she’d have Anne of Green Gablesthe guts to do it! I’ve always admired Anne’s spunk and love of beauty. When I was younger I’d waltz around, wearing long skirts with my hair piled up on top of my head, looking for things with “scope for the imagination.” I discovered poetry during these Anne phases, when I’d lug a fat volume of poems that I didn’t understand and wasn’t particularly interested in out in the yard to read under a tree. Most of this was because I so enjoyed Montgomery’s character descriptions and the Prince Edward Island setting that I wanted to be a part of Anne’s world, even if it was only by dressing up and reading romantic poets. As an adult reader, I still appreciate the historical setting, and the old-fashioned familiarity of the stories makes the books feel like old friends.

This sort of desire to participate in imaginary worlds – whether it was Anne’s world or Middle Earth – influenced the concept of STORYBOUND. I loved the idea of characters carrying on with their daily lives without nosy readers peering over their shoulders all the time, and I wondered what would happen if a girl from our world fell into theirs. And so Una Fairchild was Written In to the Land of Story, and you can read all about her adventures in STORYBOUND and STORY’S E

 

Learn more about Marissa and STORYBOUND here!

7 Responses to “Marissa Burt Talks Anne of Green Gables”

  1. caroline starr rose March 7, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    You know how I feel about this, Marissa. It’s perfect. Now all I need to do is send this to Serenity. 🙂

    Looking forward to Storybound!

    • Marissa March 8, 2012 at 5:16 am #

      Yes! Kindred spirits. 🙂 I’ve been feeling like I need to read more Anne lately. I think it has something to do with getting impatient for spring to arrive.

  2. Laurisa White Reyes March 7, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I’ve always loved Anne of Green Gables. She and Jo from Little Women are my two favorite writer heroines. Great post!

    • Marissa March 8, 2012 at 5:17 am #

      Oh, Jo. I loved Little Women, but I have a love/hate relationship with Jo. Why, oh, why, didn’t she end up with Laurie?

      • Danielle Rollins March 8, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

        Confession: I’ve never read Anne of Green Gables. I know! I may have to remedy that this spring…

        As for Jo–I’ve never agreed with a statement more! How could she have turned down Laurie? Broke my young heart.

      • marissaburt March 15, 2012 at 6:30 am #

        WHAT? You’ve never read Anne? Go take care of that! Right now! Go! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. About this Blog « Ellie Rollins - March 7, 2012

    […] right now, whether it’s Caroline Starr Rose remembering the great Laura Ingalls Wilder, or Marissa Burt introducing us to the fantastic characters in her new book, STORYBOUND, or the heated debate that arose in the comments section of Laurisa White Reyes’s post, […]

Leave a Reply

